Zimbabwe Farmers' Union

About Us

THE Zimbabwe Farmers' Union (ZFU) is the largest farmers’ interest organization in Zimbabwe and it represents over a million farming households. The Union draws its membership from the following sub sectors; communal, resettlement, small-scale commercial, peri-urban plot holders, emergent and large-scale commercial farmers. Individuals voluntarily join the organization Zimbabwe Farmers Union was born on August 19, 1992 following the merger of the Zimbabwe National Farmers Union (ZNFU) and National Farmers Association of Zimbabwe (NFAZ). ZNFU was formed back in the mid-thirties as the then Bantu Farmers Union (BFU). It was later renamed African Farmers Union (AFU) in 1941 and then Zimbabwe National Farmers Union in 1980. NFAZ was formed in 1981 emerging from the Master Farmers Association which had existed in the then Victoria province (Masvingo) since the 1960s.

How ZFU is Organised

The Union is hierarchically organised. Clubs are formed at the local levels and representative structures rise from area, district, provincial up to the national levels Small-scale commercial farmers, large-scale commercial farmers and plot holders join local ZFU associations, whilst farmers in communal and resettlement areas join local clubs. The ZFU’s District Council represents the interests of the associations and area councils of each district. The ZFU’s provincial councils represent all districts and the national council is formed out of the provincial councils. Hierarchically structured under the same manner are the ZFU’s sub wings consisting of women, youths and commodity associations. These are represented in the respective councils at all levels.